Advertisements

Russo Brothers to Produce ‘Slugfest’ Docu-Series for Quibi

0

The Russo Brothers are returning to the comic book genre. In a sense.

Variety announced shortly ago that the duo will executive produce Slugfest, a documentary series about the rivalry between Marvel and DC Comics for Quibi.

An official press release stated the following:

“Today, Quibi announced it has greenlit SLUGFEST, a new documentary series executive produced by Anthony and Joseph Russo (Avengers: Endgame, Avengers: Infinity War, Captain America: Civil War, Captain America: Winter Solider). The series is inspired by the book Slugfest: Inside the Epic, 50-Year Battle between Marvel and DC. It will bring to light little-known stories from the history of this uniquely American art form… Each story is a gold nugget for fans of both Marvel and DC – helping fans dive deeper into the behind-the-scenes history of their favorite brands.”

Quibi – a mobile TV subscription “quick-bite” service is expected to launch on April 6th, 2020. Users have the option to subscribe for $5 monthly (with ads) or $8 monthly (without ads). Aimed at a millennial audience, the services states it will deliver “premium content produced in episodic chunks of 10 minutes or less.”

The Russos’ next project, 21 Bridges – starring Chadwick Boseman – hits theaters on November 22nd.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: